I feel like I’ve been running a lot of instances lately. Part of that is, I’m sure, the fact that the boyfriend is all of a sudden a Grim Batol magnet, and it always seems to take twice as long in there as any other heroic. Part of it is that I know have four toons at 85, and Valor Points are a pretty decent temptation to try to run at least one instance a day on each of them (and most days, I only do one or two, but sometimes I can get them all in).

So I’ve been thinking a lot about the “Vote To Kick” feature lately.

While running a Vortex Pinnacle with my priest and my boyfriend’s tanking death knight, we ran into quite a pair of DPS. We had very little CC for the elemental portion of the instance, and my boyfriend asked that everyone allow him a few seconds to pick up all the little guys before opening up. After a couple pulls where the mage got his face eaten, it went a lot smoother.  Then, just before the second room of star mobs, I get a “Vote Kick” up on my screen for my boyfriend with the note “Bad tank is bad”.

Well, we hadn’t wiped once. We had a couple of individual deaths when pulls went wrong, but nothing that would have warranted a kick in my mind had I been DPSing and the tank a PuG. When the kick didn’t pass, the mage and his friend basically decided to do nothing on the last boss so that we ended up wiping.

Now, personally? I hate using the vote kick. I know how long DPS queues are, and I know how frustrating it can be to be new or not terribly geared. I’ve never initiated a vote kick on someone for having low DPS. I’ve never initiated a vote kick on someone for asking questions or needing explanations.  I’ve never initiated a vote kick on someone who clearly just made a mistake, but I know people who will for any or all of those reasons.

When will I use the vote kick? When someone is being verbally abusive, absolutely. I really really don’t want to spend a hour with someone who prefers to swear at someone – even if it’s not me – in party, and complain about how everyone sucks, and so on. If you really need to say something like “We won’t down this boss unless we all step up the DPS”, fine. Say it as politely as you can, and if the group doesn’t seem to improve, you are free to leave.  But if you’re willing to play with unknown quantities, and if you use LFD – you are saying that’s something you’re willing to do – check your bad attitude at the instance portal.  If what you’re typing in party chat isn’t productive, keep it to yourself, snark to a friend or your guildmates, but demoralizing your instance group isn’t going to get you anywhere but swiftly kicked out the door.

I also like having the kick feature for say, that person who queues as tank for a heroic, and then refuses to tank, or is clearly not geared or specced for it. Same for someone who queues as healer and can’t or won’t do the job they signed up for. I don’t game the system, and I have no patience for people who try to and then expect me to pay for it. If I can wait in queue for 40 minutes in order to do an instance as DPS, so can they.

I would probably use the vote kick if someone was disconnected for more than a few minutes, but I find I rarely need to, because someone else in the group less patient than I am will usually do it first.

Other than in instances like those? I’m fairly patient. I will explain fights to a person who admits that it’s their first time doing an instance on heroic mode. Everyone is new at some point. We all did heroics when we needed the gear that dropped there.

But I’m constantly surprised at how NOT patient some people are, at how readily they vote to kick for any minor offense, real or imagined.

Do you use the vote kick system for reasons I haven’t mentioned? Are you more tolerant of sub-par DPS than sub-par tanks or healers? Is attitude everything, or do you regularly turn to vote kick to address performance issues?

