This is nothing new for me. I suffer from a moderate-to-severe case of WoW-apathy every few months. Sometimes, it lasts a couple days. Sometimes, a couple weeks.  At its worst? It’ll linger about for around a month.

I’m firmly in week two here. Possibly even more than week two, but I’m being optimistic. However, there are a few things that make me believe this isn’t just the everyday sort of WoW-apathy.

1) There was no drama-explosion at the beginning of this bout of profound disinterest. WoW-apathy is usually how I distance myself when something goes all FUBAR socially in game.

2) Normally, WoW-apathy can be temporarily banished by doing something different in game. Rolling a new alt. Chasing PvP achievements. Focusing on making gold. Even doing some ridiculous grindy-grind nonsense in the pursuit of 10 silly nerdpoints. But this time, it seems pretty much un-banishable.

At the start of Lunaris raid last night, we talked about the MMO Champion prediction that we could be seeing Cataclysm around the 1st week in November, and what that means for our raiding plans for the next month and a half or so.  I’ve been expecting this conversation to come up on both factions for awhile now, and I’ve been sort of dreading it. I mean, there’s a lot of stuff I wanted to DO before 4.0, y’know?

And now, I just keep thinking that I don’t care. Well, not that I don’t care, but I don’t care ENOUGH to actually do any of it. None of it seems important or fun. What’s the point of grinding badges or better gear this close to a gear reset? To my knowledge, none of my toons are close enough to anything that Cataclysm is going to make disappear for me to be at all motivated – except possibly Krikket’s Zandalar rep, and I’m not even sure I want to bother with THAT anymore.

I find myself relieved when I’m sat for raids, not because they’re not still fun once I actually get moving (because they are), but because I’m glad I’m not taking that spot away from someone who’s still excited about it. I guess I’m lucky in that I’m still enjoying the company, even if I’m not all that interested in the game anymore.

In the meantime? The Sims 3 expacs are kind of full of amazing, and since I’ve figured out a way around the “My DVD-Rom drive hates the Sims” issue, I’ve been all about the little-people-ant-farm. I’m still really looking forward to Cataclysm, especially all the elemental goodness coming my way, but until then? I don’t know how much dabbling I’ll even do anymore.

I expect that Krikket’s Loremaster was my last great achievement of Wrath of the Lich King. I’m more okay with that then I thought I would be.

