Sometimes, raiding is frustrating, not because of the difficulty of the content, but because of the clash in personalities and goals. While it’d be easy to focus on the things I hate seeing in my fellow raiders, I’d much rather put forth a list of qualities, and what they mean to me, that I love seeing in the people I raid with.

1. Knowledgeable

Knowledgeable about your own class and role in a raid is crucial.  Knowledgeable about mechanics of the various raid encounters makes everyone’s job easier. Knowledgeable about other classes mechanics and abilities assures that I want you in my raid group.

2. Consistent

Hey, we all have off days. But knowing that my raid team can put on their game face, even if they’re having a bad day makes me more confident in the raid group as a whole. To me, that means performing at the best of your ability every time you zone through that instance portal.

3. Adaptable

This might sound counter-intuitive, but yes, I want people to be both consistent and adaptable. If you’ve done the exact same job on the exact same fight 100 times, it might be scary at first to do something in a different way. Raid comps get shuffled, and sometimes, the ability to do something outside of your individual comfort zone is the difference between success and failure.

4. Enthusiastic

Raiding is always more fun when I’m with people who are excited to be there. Nothing kills my morale faster than pulling someone along who is making it abundantly clear that they have better things to do.

5. Positive

Guess what? Wipes happen. Sometimes, things that have always been easy are suddenly really hard for no good reason. Sometimes? It really is an RNG thing. Getting cranky when something goes wrong isn’t productive. Being upbeat – or at least being able to fake it for the duration – makes me want to raid with you more.

6. Respectful

I cannot fathom any reason to be rude to people while you’re trying to accomplish a shared goal. If you need to take a deep breath and consider your words, then do that. But those other players in your raid group are just that – players. People. If we all remember that, and treat each other like actual human beings with feelings, a better time is had by all.

I don’t choose to spend time with mean people outside of WoW – why on earth would I choose to relax with them?

7. Driven

I love when people are hungry for a challenge. I love watching people get better. I love the feeling when I realize that I’m getting better. I never want to be content to rest on my laurels or to say “Eh, that was good enough”.  There is always room for improvement, and someone who looks for that improvement in themselves instead of in others is an asset to their raid team.

8. Patient

Real life happens. People have pets and children and knocks on the door.  Computers crash and the power goes out sometimes. Are these things convenient or fun when they put a pause to the raid or cause a wipe? No. But this is a game, and as such, I realize that sometimes, something else needs someone’s attention for a moment or two.  Now, I don’t expect people to wait half an hour while someone cooks dinner or runs to the grocery store – but keeping a good attitude during those unavoidable short breaks is good for morale.

But I also mean patient in the sense that we’re all human and make mistakes. Some people have a steeper learning curve than others. If you can see that someone is really trying, and is improving, a little bit of patience goes a long way.

9. Benevolent

This entry was originally “selfless” but that didn’t really say what I meant.

I really prefer to raid with people who raid for fun. I hate when people say “Why would I want to do that raid? There’s no loot there for me.”  – I admit, that causes me to nerdrage a little. If you really don’t want to do something, just say that you don’t want to.

The benevolent raider knows that any loot that a raider can use benefits the raid group as a whole, and as such, also benefits them. I love seeing someone pass on a small upgrade for someone else, for whom it would be quite a sizable upgrade indeed. I feel like being able to put the best interest of the group as whole above your own personal interests is a very valuable quality.

10. Prepared

This is my no-brainer. Respect other people’s time. Be online on time. Be repaired. Have some money on you to repair during the raid. Have whatever consumables you think you might need ready to go at raid start. Read up on encounters you haven’t seen before. Make sure your addons are up to date, if you use them. Know that – barring a true emergency – you can commit to the time allotted for the raid. Make sure you gem and enchant your gear, and have all the appropriate reagents. Yes, this requires a commitment outside of whatever raid time is slotted, but if someone doesn’t have the time to make sure they’re prepared for the content they want to run? That person should maybe reconsider whether or not they have the time to raid.

