I understand that the queue time for tanks for randoms is much much shorter than the queue times for DPS.

I understand that gearing up a new character means running a lot of heroics, and the less time you spend in queue the more you get to spend actually running those heroics.

I understand that you might not want to roll need against a tank for tanking gear, so you prefer to be the tank while looking for upgrades.*

But for the love of all that is holy, PLEASE do not queue as a tank for a random heroic unless you have a set of gear, in your bags, that will give you at least 535 defense. More is ok. Less is not.

No love,

The healer (with tanking offspec) waiting out a 30 minute deserter debuff since the tank in her H-ToC had 25k health and 512 defense.

*Honestly? I think it’s the queue times. I don’t think people who are all “lolwut do you mean defense-cap?” would think twice about rolling on tanking upgrades against the actual tank in a 5 man.

