From the patch notes for 3.3.3:

  • Flame Shock: The damage-over-time component of this ability can now produce critical strikes and is affected by spell haste.
  • Talents
    • Elemental Combat
      • Elemental Oath: This ability is now always on as a passive aura.

    This means a couple of things:

    – The glyph of Flame Shock is no longer mandatory. In fact, it’s a DPS loss when compared with Glyph of Lava or Glyph of Flametongue Weapon. Since my poking around in information posted by people who know stuff basically said they’re comparable, I went with the extra 2% crit from the Flametongue Weapon glyph. Combine that with the 5% passive, always up, crit from Elemental Oath? I’m sitting at over 42% crit.

    – I have to cast Flame Shock a lot more often. Which actually means that (a) I might do SLIGHTLY better on movement intensive fight due to the ticks being hasted, but (b) I might do slightly worse on stand still and burn fights because I’m missing a lightning bolt every time I need to refresh it.

    Right now, I’m still wearing 2 piece T9, which says it increases Flame Shock’s duration by 9 seconds – which may actually mean 9 seconds still, or it may mean 3 ticks, in much the same way they’re adjusting 4pc T10. Not sure exactly. My Flame Shock cooldown also seems to be shorter than I remember – tooltip is telling me four seconds, but … I thought all shocks were 6, untalented. I need to poke around more.

    Basically, the elemental “rotation” has become something I’m going to have to watch more carefully to be sure that Flame Shock never falls off, that I’m always refreshing it right after I use Elemental Mastery, and that I’m using Elemental Mastery almost on cooldown (which is affected by my 2pc T10 bonus). I’m pretty excited overall, although I expect I’m going to be stumble-y for a couple of days while I get use to the way it feels.

    Overall? I think I got buffed. Which is ironic, because I just resigned myself to being FailShaman until Cataclysm.

