I was resistant to joining any guild with a focus on 25-man raids for a very very long time.  But it seems to be the way of WoW, and who am I to fight progress?

Well, after a month of doing 25s with BoO, I still haven’t changed my opinion of 25s.

Yes, the gear is better. No one ever argued that. But I just don’t enjoy 25 man raiding.

I’m not quitting or anything – I knew that by transferring I was making a commitment to something I wasn’t sure I was going to like all that much.  There are moments that are fun, but for the most part? I’m not really having a good time. It’s too chaotic, and there’s not really an opportunity to make connections with the people you’re raiding with. You’re an itty bitty fish in a big pond. I don’t feel that sense of cohesion and teamwork that are a big part of what I liked about raiding.

I don’t hold this against any person or people – I think it’s the nature of the beast. But I miss feeling like part of a family, where the good of the group is always more important than our individual gear scores.

I miss loot arguments of:  “You take it.” “No, you take it!” “No, it’s really better for you – you take it!”

I miss being part of a 10-man team and having that to look forward to every week. I’m worried that in order to actually have that again, I’m going to have to find a committed non-guild 10 man group, and I’m not sure I’m ready to do that. I really like my guild. I really want to kill the Lich King with them.

Kyr posted about poor communication leading to disappointment, and I think the responsibility rests on all parties. I know that I wish I had asked more questions about the handling of 10 man raids before we came over. I don’t know that it would have influenced my decision, but I would have had a better idea of how much of an uphill battle it was going to be to be involved with a regular, committed 10 man group.

