It’s funny what you can talk yourself into sometimes.

While my account was still suspended, I convinced myself that it couldn’t be that bad. That maybe my account was one that just got sold, and whoever had it was just screwing around on it. That it was caught really quickly, and everything was going to be fine.

Now that I can get into the game, I’ve gotten a chance to assess. It’s pretty bad.

There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of rhyme and reason to what they took and what they left behind. Krikket still has her weapon and shield – both vendor-able drops. However, at this point, in what they left me for gear, I’m about 140 points under hit cap, so that alone will keep me out of the raiding game until my gear gets restored, or I give up and re-farm half a bazillon badges.  And I don’t want to say that I don’t believe in Blizzard customer service, exactly, but with nearly a dozen effected characters, I figure my odds of getting her stuff restored first aren’t that great.

I kept telling myself that the things that mattered were still there: the characters, and Krikket’s achievement points, mounts and pets. But I forgot about the other part of it, that also matters very much: the ability to play to the best of my abilities with my friends. And that I don’t have. I may have to give up my plans to see all of ICC, and do Ulduar hardmodes, and this feeling that I’m going to be so far behind until Cataclysm is really upsetting.

I’ve had single player games develop critical errors in save-files when I’d put in a lot of time, and was close to the end. I’d rage or cry or do whatever it took to get it out of my system, and then I’d do one of two things. I’d start over (or from the last good save), or I’d decide the game was flawed and uninstall.

Shit happens, and you don’t always get to finish what you start. Sometimes, there is no choice but to start over or walk away. I get that. I’m just not sure which I’ll do here if it comes down to it. Hopefully, all my shiny pixels will show up back in my mailbox. But I can’t help thinking about what the hell I’m going to do if they don’t.

