I am always looking for the next cool thing that won’t break the budget.

Last week, I was lucky enough to become a beta tester for Glitch. Now, I love beating down bosses as much as the next nerdy fangirl, but my first gaming love was the type of game my boyfriend and I call “the build shit/buy shit/sell shit” game. And Glitch totally fits that bill.

In the two days that the most recent beta test was open, I managed to level to 13, rack up a metric fuckton of achievement badges, and buy a little starter house. More than that? I got hooked. I find myself constantly refreshing the beta page, their Facebook page, hell, even their Twitter page (and I hate Twitter with a burning passion) to get a clue as to when they’ll be opening it up for more play.

In fact, I was so busy playing – picking berries, petting pigs, and milking butterflies – that it didn’t occur to me to get any screenshots for you.

Currently, Glitch plans to open sometime this summer as a free-to-play, browser-based MMO, with optional subscriptions & a cash shop, which will open up additional cosmetic choices, but nothing that gives an in-game advantage.  It’s not going to be a WoW-killer – in fact, I’m guessing the target audiences aren’t remotely similar – but I think it’s going to be a lot of fun.

If we’re friends on Facebook, and you’re interested in trying out Glitch, make sure you connect your beta request to your Facebook account. When they took down the server on Saturday, I had four invites remaining & I’m hopeful they’ll reappear when the server goes back up this weekend. I’d love to share the opportunity to play this lovely but odd game with some of you.